North Atlantic Treaty Organization


The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is an intergovernmental military alliance between several North American and European states based on the North Atlantic Treaty that was signed on 4 April 1949. NATO constitutes a system of collective defense whereby its member states agree to mutual defense in response to an attack by any external party. NATO is an alliance that consists of 29 independent member countries across North America and Europe. An additional 21 countries participate in NATO’s Partnership for Peace program, with 15 other countries involved in institutionalized dialogue programs.

The mission of the NAEW&Force Commander is to deliver ready, responsive Airborne Early Warning, Battle Management and Command and Control capability to operational commanders in support of NAC-approved taskings.